LabVenture 2011

We were lucky to be treated to a trip to the Gulf of Maine Research Institute in Portland, Maine,  to participate in their program, LabVentureLobster:Untold Tales. Students became scientists as they rotated through a series of four 20-minute investigations focused around lobsters, their importance, habitat, survival, and lobstering in the Gulf of Maine.

See our LabVenture album.

Students, please let us know what you thought? Answer the following questions and post your comment below:

  • What is at least one thing you learned about lobsters during your visit?
  • Why are lobsters important to the Gulf of Maine?
  • What is at least one thing you learned about being a scientist or scientific investigations as you did your study?
This entry was posted in Daily Happenings, Ecology. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to LabVenture 2011

  1. Audrey M. says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that there are orange lobsters and they are rare.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because it is how we get money and they also produce food.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you need to listen or you will miss a lot of important information.

  2. Rylen G says:

    One thing I learned about lobster during my visit is that if they have a v on their tail they have already been caught or that they are a mother.

    Lobster’s are important to the gulf of Maine because they are helping the people that work there get money and they won’t lose their jobs.

    The one thing I learned about scientific investigation is that when the lobsters are born they are called larvae and that they live for fifty years.

  3. Eero P says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters is about one in 2,000,000 is blue.

    Lobsters are important to Maine because they create a lot of jobs.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is there is not a specific process

  4. Wyatt M says:

    One thing I learned when I went to the lobster exhibit is that one out of 1000,000,000 lobsters are orange.

    Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because lobstermen will lose their jobs.

    One thing I learned at the gulf of Maine institute is that there are many science methods to use.

  5. Sydney R says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is one in fifty million lobsters are blue and one in one hundred million are white.

    One reason I think lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine is because they provide jobs and food for people.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is being patient. Something I need to practice.

  6. Celia M says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that when you cook a blue lobster it looks just like a normal lobster when you are finished cooking it.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they provide people with jobs.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that not everyone will agree with each other.

  7. Julia H says:

    One thing I learned about Lobsters on my visit are That If you cook a Blue Lobster It will change to the color of a regular lobsters color, and that 1 out of 100 million Lobsters are blue.

    Lobsters Are important to the Gulf of Maine because many people rely on them for their job and their food.
    Also They help keep are ocean eco-system balanced by eating the extra fish, seaweed and many more.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that
    Its not always a easy process but If you work together it can be really fun!!

  8. James k says:

    1 One thing I learned about Lobsters is that there are blue and white Lobsters.

    2 Lobsters are important in the gulf of Maine because they eat the dead fish floating around.

    3 One thing I learned about being a scientist is its not always easy to work in a group

  9. Grace C says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit at the Gulf of Maine Research is that lobsters can live for 50 years!

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they bring tourists to Maine for lobster fests.

    One thing I learned about Scientist is they don’t always agree.

  10. cassidy says:

    One thing I learned during my visit is when you cook a blue lobster it changes to the color of a regular lobster and lobsters can live up to 50 years.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are food for us and other sea animals.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you have to be patient and listen to other scientist have to say.

  11. christina D says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters is that there is one and 50 million chance that you’ll catch lobsters that are blue and one and a 100 million lobster that are white.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they help people to get money. they also help keep the ecosystem clean by eating the dead fish.

    One thing I that I learned about being a scientist is that you always write a report about what they just learned or what they think about the thing they are studying.

  12. AlexW says:

    One thing I learned about Lobsters during my visit is that during the winter the males hide under the mud while the females go south.

    Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because many have jobs catching Lobsters. They also provide food for not only us but for some other animals.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is when a group comes to a conclusion nobody comes to the same answer, but if we listen to each other we all might have great ideas.

  13. Diamond M. says:

    *One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that when you cook a blue lobster it turns red.

    *Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they give jobs to lobstermen.

    *One thing I learned about being a scientist is that they give video reports.

  14. Diamond M. says:

    *One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that when you cook a blue lobster it turns red.

    *Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they give jobs to lobstermen.

    *One thing I learned about being a scientist is that is that you always give a written report or a video report of your.

  15. Cameryn Pasquale says:

    What is at least one thing you learned about lobsters during your visit.

    Why are lobsters important to the Gulf of Maine.

    What is at least one thing you learned about being a scientist or scientific investigations as you did your study.

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that lobsters can live 50 years.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they bring tourists to fest.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is they cam never agree.

  16. ShayneS says:

    1.) One thing I learned about lobsters is that they can be cannibals.
    2.) Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they eat the dead fish.
    3.) One thing I learned about being a scientist is that scientist don’t always get along.

  17. Ben B. says:

    I knew the trip was going to be great when I walked onto the bus. It looked like someone had ripped the interior of a airplane and stuck it on a bus. But that was only our transportation.
    When we walked into the lab I gaped at it because it was full of my favorite thing; TECHNOLOGY. We advanced to bleachers were one thing I learned about lobsters is that sometimes their shells are used to make golf balls.
    We then went to our first station where we made our team picture.
    At our second station I learned that Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because many people make their money lobstering.
    As we moved around I learned that it is hard to work in a group because not everyone agrees with each other.
    Overall the trip was amazing and I learned a lot!

  18. Becca C says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit was that when someone catches a lobster that is bigger than 5 inches from the eye socket to the beggining of the tail they throw it back into the water.

    Lobsters are important to Maine because they are a great food source and they keep the ocean floor clean by eating all the dead fish.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you can never be afraid to ask what you think is a dumb question because someone may be thinking the same thing.

  19. lenny boston says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that their shells can be used for golf balls.

    -Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they are a huge tourist atraction.

    One thing I learnded about being a scientist is that there are many steps to it and its not just one small thing.

  20. Taylor Rinaldi says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that they not only have two different types of
    claws called a crusher and a scissor but they also will clean up the ocean floor by eating a dead fish.
    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they give people a yummy, heathy meal.
    One thing I learned about being a scientific investigator is to use all of my senses and take notes.

  21. Hannah G says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that they are lots of different colors and they are only red when they are cooked.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they help keep the bottom of the ocean clean by eating fish that that we can not eat.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that sometimes it is hard to make decisions because they don’t always agree on everything.

  22. WilliamsM says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is they will only turn red when they are cooked.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine Research Institute because they make food for people like us to eat.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that they have to do many steps to reach a conclusion.

  23. Sarah L says:

    One thing I learned about during my visit is that lobsters help other animals clean up the ocean floor.

    Lobsters are important to the Golf of Maine because if there was no lobsters lobster men wouldn’t have a job.

    One thing I learned about being a scientific investigator is that scientists all have different opinions.

  24. Zach W says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that sciancetist don’t agree.

    Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because you can eat them.

    One thing I learned is that you can’t eat mother lobsters with eggs.

  25. Grace S. says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is lobsters are cannibals so they can eat smaller lobsters.

    Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they supply food and jobs.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is you don’t always have enough time to do the experiment or form hypothesis.

  26. Dylan.L says:

    1.One thing I learned about lobsters during my “Labventure” is that female lobsters keep egg’s under they’re tail.

    2.Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they provide jobs for maine people.

    3.One thing I learned about being a lobsterman is that every trap has a bright yellow strap in it to say that they have legal traps to use.

  27. Reese G says:

    When we went on our trip to the gulf of Main I learned that lobsters can be different colors like blue and orange and if it albino maybe even white, we also learned what lobsters eat and were they live.
    Why lobsters are important is we can eat them and sell them for money.
    One thing I learned about being making scientific investigations is that they sometimes fight over there home and for a mate.

  28. Tom .d says:

    I learned what baby lobsters look like at GRMI.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because it provides jobs to hundreds of people.

    It takes more than 30 seconds to come to a conclusion.

  29. Lauren S says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit at the Gulf of Maine Research Institute is that a lobster man when he/she loads up the lobster trap, they have to check every lobster. They have to measure with a measure stick to see if the lobster is to small or to big, they have to check for eggs in the females because they can’t take a female lobster with eggs, and finally if the female lobster does have eggs in the tail the lobster man has to make a “ V “ notch in its tall and throw it back in the ocean.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because some tourists only come to eat Maine’s great lobster. Also another reason is because it creates a lot of jobs for people in Maine.

    One thing i learned about being a scientist is I learned that you should make a lot of observations. Making observations is very important because it helps you as a scientist get closer to determine if your hypothesis is correct.

    – Lauren

  30. Andrew S says:

    One thing I learned at the GRMI was that lobsters with a V notch in their tail get thrown back.

    One way lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are a source of work for many people.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that investigations and experiments can take longer than you would think.One thing I learned at the GRMI was that lobsters with a V notch in their tail get thrown back.

    One way lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are a source of work for many people.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that investigations and experiments can take longer than you would think.

  31. Sydney R says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that when a lobster men catches a female lobster and she has eggs under her tale, they have to v-notch the lobsters tale because she has eggs under her tale.The lobster men have to throw the lobster back in the water.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because by getting caught in a lobster trap will be a job and food for a lot of families.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you need more time than 1min 45 sec.

  32. Emale W says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters are that lobsters can be blue,white,red and so on.

    Lobsters are important because they help make money for lobster men.

    One of the things I learned of a scientific evidence is that you have to have patience to work well.

    From,
    Emale Whited

  33. Hope T says:

    I learned that there can be all different colors! White, blue,red,and orange. Lobsters are important to the gulf of Maine because they make money for the lobster man. One thing i learned about being a scientist is that you you’ve got to have patience and you’ve got to have FUN!

    this paragraph is by Hope Therrien 😀

  34. Conner W. says:

    1.One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that lobsters eat plankton to keep a balance in their diet,also that the orange lobster is very rare.

    2.Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are a huge food supply for our community,also they provide alot of money for lobsterman.

    3.One thing I learned about being a scientist is that I learned how to work better in a group,also there is no specific process.The last thing is to be patient with your work.

  35. Saydee B says:

    When We went on our trip to the gulf of Main I learned a lot of things about lobsters but one thing I learned was that lobsters come in different colors.There was a blue lobster and a orange lobster and the one that that the teachers told us about was the albino lobster.I was really surprised about an albino lobster I never new there was a white lobster. Lobster are important to the gulf of Maine because they are a big source of food. One thing i learned about being a scientist is that you have to have a lot of Passions with your team mates also you have to learn to listen to what you team mates have to say.

  36. Isabel.M. says:

    Things I learned about lobsters during my visit are…

    1.The shell is the most important about a lobster because if it didn’t have one first it would get eaten right when it hatched it would get eaten because it would be small and easy to eat for prey to eat it also could get dirt in it and it could make it very sick.

    Lobster are important to the Gulf of Maine because…

    1.People come from all around the U.S. to try Maine’s lobsters and without them we would not be able to eat such a fantastic food.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is…

    1.When you work as a group it can help you find you report results quicker because the other people in your group have other ideas that you might like and all the ideas make you answer.

  37. Andrew S says:

    One thing I learned at the GRMI was that lobsters with a V notch in their tail get thrown back.

    One way lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are a source of work for many people.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that investigations and experiments can take longer than you would think.

  38. Gabrielle W says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that lobsters shells are really sturdy but also fragile.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they provide food for other animals,humans,and sometimes themselves. They also provide jobs for humans.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is your hypothesis sometimes takes a longer time to explain than you think or a shorter amount of time than you think so you have to explain it slowly or fast on the amount of time you have to explain.

  39. Cole S says:

    At my visit to the Labventure Gulf of Maine Institute I learned lots about Lobsters! I found it fascinating that lobsters come in many different varieties, ranging from red and blue to orange and white.(albino) I also found it hard to believe that lobster’s shells can be made into golfballs. The theory is that lobster shell golfballs are biodegradable so it’ not a threat to the ocean when big cruise companies allow customers to hit golfballs into the ocean.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they keep the plankton population just right. They also supply many people with jobs and food.

    What I learned about being a scientist was that teamwork is critical and if one person does not agree it messes the whole group up and the answer.

  40. Isabel.M. says:

    1.Things I learned about lobsters during my visit are…

    3.The shell is the most important about a lobster because if it didn’t have one first it would get eaten right when it hatched it would get eaten because it would be small and easy to eat for prey to eat it also could get dirt in it and it could make it very sick.

    Lobster are important to the Gulf of Maine because…

    1.People come from all around the U.S. to try Maine’s lobsters and without them we would not be able to eat such a fantastic food.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is…

    1.When you work as a group it can help you find you report results quicker because the other people in your group have other ideas that you might like and all the ideas togather make you answer

  41. Andrew S says:

    One thing I learned at the GRMI was that lobsters with a V notch in their tail get thrown back.

    One way lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they are a source of work for many people.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that investigations and experiments can take longer than you would think..

  42. Alysha T says:

    One thing I learned at the Gulf of Maine is about lobsters the thing I learned was larva lobsters eat plankton to help them grow, in to adult lobsters. Also I learned that lobsters have one crushing claw and one small claw, and the lobster attracts a lot of men and woman and the children for the great lobster on a dish that brings them to Maine. Did you know that a female lobster can have 1,000 eggs and only 5-1 of them will live. And that even a green or blue lobsters when cooked turns red.Always.

  43. Jessie D. says:

    One thing I learned about Lobsters during my visit that the big claws that lobsters have aren’t the same size and shape, then bigger claw is called the crusher claw: which is used to crush small rocks and small animals, it also is the claw that helps the lobster defend its territory. The other claw is called the scissor claw which in fact is sharp and will help the lobster cut through things that are in its way and will most likely serve the lobster well in a fight.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because by getting caught in lobster traps they will provide a job and food for a family or more. The lobster will give a job to some people on the coast by having people (lobster men) come out and catching the lobster and bringing the food back to there family.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you should not rush through scientific experiment because than you will most likely miss a lot of important information on the topic you are researching, And do not think that you will be able to finish a scientific experiment in within 1 hour.

  44. Chloe D. says:

    Things i learned about lobsters during my visit are……….

    1.I also learned that when a lobster man pulls a lobster out of the ocean and the lobster has a v-notch on the tail, they have to put it back in the ocean, because the lobster had eggs on her when another lobster man found her so they have to put her back to produce more eggs.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Main because………..

    1.Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Main because they eat all the plankton and dead fish.
    2. Lobsters are also important to the Gulf of Main because they are a source of food.

    One thing I learned about being a good scientist is you have to Ask questions, observe what you are trying to find out, make hypothesis, conduct an experiment, collect data, report results, analyze information.

  45. zach says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is they can have about 12,000 eggs at A time.
    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they eat dead fish.
    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that they don’t get the same idea.

  46. Jacob C says:

    LAB VENTURE

    one thing I learned about lobsters during my visit is that the Golf Of Maine Research Institute is a very great lab to learn about lobsters and all different colors and why.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they eat all the stuff that we can’t eat like rainbow fish that are not edible for humans to eat so when it dies they eat the died rainbow fish.

    One thing I learned about being a Scientist is that it tasks a lot out of you to be studying about Lobsters.

  47. Spencer J says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters was that scientists have learned to make golf balls out of their shells.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they help keep the bottom of the ocean clean by eating many species that have died.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is you have to go through a bunch of steps before you can find the answer. These steps are called the Scientific Process.

  48. Anna R says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters is that they are cannibals and will eat other lobsters.
    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they supply jobs for many Mainers by the cost.
    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that they don’t always get along and you have to make compromises.

  49. CollinS says:

    One thing learned about lobsters during my visit is that golf balls can be made out of lobster shells.

    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they keep the bottom of the Ocean clean by eating the dead stuff.

    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that you don’t always agree and you have to compromise.

  50. Avery C. says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit was how a lobster trap worked. I think it’s great that there is a slot that decays so if the trap gets lost, the lobsters that would usually be stuck for eternity will get out and survive.
    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because the population of lobsters in Maine is a lot greater than other places in the United States. Lobster is a staple in Maine, while in other states its a delicacy. Tourists are attracted to Maine because of it.
    One thing I learned about being a scientist, emphasis on one, because I learned many, is that some times there’s no right or wrong answer, just theories. Being a scientist is hard work but is very rewarding in knowledge.

  51. Maya B says:

    One thing I learned about lobsters during my visit was that their shells can be used to make golf balls, that are just as hard as regular ones and can decompose which helps the environment!
    Lobsters are important to the Gulf of Maine because they make a lot money off of tourists.
    One thing I learned about being a scientist is that it’s really hard to get stuff done if you and your partners are arguing.

Leave a Reply

